Minnesota Fiddlers

Sept 25th 2016 - Terrace Mills Fiddle Contest

 Winners, plus all the other contestants   (18 total)

Category              Name                                    Location                                        Placing
                            No Beginners

                            Elias O’Brien                     St. Paul, MN                                        1st
                            Abigail Carey                    Farmington, MN                                 2nd
                            Heidi Schimnich               Sauk Rapids, MN                                 3rd
                            Adrian Trumble                Alexandria, MN                                               
                            Michael Trumble              Alexandria, MN

Young Adults:

                             Abigail Inlow                    River Falls, WI                                    1st
                             Holly Reyner                    Independence, IA                               2nd
                             Molly Trumble                 Alexandria, MN                                  3rd
                             Savannah Pedersen          Monticello, MN
                             Emma Peterson                Rogers, MN
                             Ryan Srichai                     Minneapolis, MN
                             Amanda Trumble             Alexandria, MN


                             Walter Sigtermans            Apple Valley                                       1st
                              Kevan Soderberg             Madison, SD                                       2nd


                              Gilmore Lee                      Maple Plain                                        1st
                              Lee Cowan                        Oak Grove                                         2nd
                              Jan Sabraski                      Dayton, MN                                       3rd
                              Frances Mendenhall          Minneapolis

2016 Contest Season Photographs

Laura Days - Pee Wee Winners Age 9 and under (pictured L to R)
Gretchen Bell (6th Place)
Audrey Nye (5th Place)
Annelyse Preston (4th Place)
Esther Sieg (3rd Place)
Abigail Carey (2nd Place)
Tessa Duncan (1st Place)

Dawn Fayerweather, Carla Manning and Stephanie Edels judged. Gilmore Lee provided back up. 

A good time was had by all!

Laura Days - Adult Winners  16 and up (pictured L to R)
Holly Reyner (4th Place)
Abigail Inlow (3rd Place)
Kelsey Erickson (2nd Place)
Kathleen Lamb (1st Place)

June 26, 2016 - Smity’s Amateur Fiddlers’ Contest

Laura Days - Trick and Fancy (pictured L to R)
Kathleen Lamb (3rd Place)
Holly Reyner (2nd Place)
Kelsey Erickson (1st Place).

Accompanists: George Domstrand and Gilmore Lee

September 10, 2016  - Laura Ingalls Wilder Days 14th Annual Old-Tyme Fiddle Contest - Pepin, Wisconsin

August 13, 2016 - Mountain Iron 35th annual Minnesota State Old Time Fiddle Championship

Minnesota has a new state champion fiddler!  On Saturday, August 13, 2016 we held the 35th annual Minnesota State Old Time Fiddle Championships. This year’s winner is Olivia Skaja of Deer River, MN. Olivia qualifies to play at the National Old Time Fiddle Contest held annually in Weiser, Idaho in June.  Congratulations to Olivia and the rest of our award recipients listed below.

Championship Division
1st place Olivia Skaja, Deer River, MN
2nd place Abigail Inlow, River Falls, WI
3rd place Alec Ratz, Slate River, Ontario
4th place Austin Engelhardt, Two Harbors, MN
5th place Gabby Koepke, Eveleth, MN

Junior-Junior Division ages 12 and under
1st place Eva Seabrook, Thunder Bay, Ontario
2nd place Elias O’Brien, St. Paul, MN
3rd place Riley Krenz, Gilbert, MN

Junior Division ages 13-25
1st place Aaron Wilcox, Mountain Iron, MN
2nd place Andrew Wilcox, Mountain Iron, MN

Intermediate Division ages 26-49
1st place Sara Alexander, Virginia, MN

Senior Division ages 50-70
1st place Sheila Wilcox, Mountain Iron, MN

Senior-Senior Division ages 71 and over
1st place Tim Krugman, Elyria, Ohio

Twin Fiddle
1st place Olivia Skaja & Abigail Inlow
2nd place Austin Engelhardt & Gabby Koepke
3rd place Wendy Ratz & Alec Ratz

1st place Olivia Skaja-mandolin, Deer River, MN
2nd place Zia Koepke-cello, Eveleth, MN

This activity was made possible in part by the voters of MN through a grant from the Arrowhead Regional Arts Council, thanks to appropriations from the MN state Legislature’s general and arts and cultural heritage funds and by an Operation Round Up Grant from Lake Country Power and Natural Harvest Food Co-op’s Change Within Reach Grant. Thank you to our talented accompanists Don LaPlant (Grand Rapids), Doreen Green (Thunder Bay), Sheila Wilcox, Gabby Koepke, Sara Alexander, Kaitlin Skaja (Deer River), and Eric Krenz (Gilbert), and to our Master of Ceremonies Tucker Nelson.  A special thank you to our expert judges Cristina Seaborn, Gilmore Lee and Mary LaPlant. We also want to thank Cristina Seaborn for sharing her knowledge with us at the Swedish fiddling workshop on Friday. We had so much fun learning some new tunes in this unique fiddling style. We’d also like to express our sincere thanks to our contest committee members/volunteers: Erik Honkanen, Roxanne Kelson, Jenny Eng,

Laura Days - Junior Winners Ages 10 - 15 (pictured L to R)
Olya Wright (6th Place)
Beatrice Romo (5th Place)
Elias O'Brien (4th Place)
James Cavanaugh (3rd Place)
Martine Redshaw (2nd Place)
Megan Lynch (1st Place)

Small Fry
1st place - Henry Vertsch
2nd place - Michael Trumble

Junior A
1st place - Wyatt Keiser
2nd place - Adrian Trumble

Junior B
1st place - Abigail Inlow
2nd place - Molly Trumble

1st place - Amanda Trumble

1st place - Gilmore Lee
2nd place - Lee Cowan
3rd place - Frances Mendenhall